The Washington Capitals on Thursday won the Stanley Cup, ending a long run of futility for the city’s sports teams. Since Washington won the Super Bowl in January, 1992, Washington’s four major sports teams (including the Nationals, Wizards and Caps) had played 90 combined seasons without winning a title in one of the four major sports. What are the only three cities that have currently gone over 100 combined seasons without a title?


Buffalo (109) and San Diego (106) are the leaders. The Twin Cities is at 103 and is stacking the seasons faster than those cities, with representatives in all four sports. San Diego and Buffalo both won AFL titles just before the Super Bowl era. This can be a tricky exercise. You have to decide whether to include soccer, the WNBA, college football and whatnot.