It’s been a great year for tight ends. Zach Ertz is on pace to set single-season records for catches and yards at the position, Eric Ebron is making a run at Rob Gronkowski’s touchdown record, and Travis Kelce isn’t far behind.

As things stand, Ertz might become the league’s first tight end with over 130 catches. Currently, Jason Witten holds the record for tight ends with 110 catches. And Ertz could become the first to go over the 1,400-yard barrier. So far, only Rob Gronkowski and Jimmy Graham have gone over 1,300.

And with 10 TDs in nine games, Ebron is keeping pace with what Gronkowski did in his best season (when he finished with 18 TDs in 2011).

Kelce is also putting up huge numbers, and George Kittle is also on pace to break the all-time single-season record for yards.

Using standard fantasy scoring, 14 tight ends in this century have finished seasons with at least 170 points. There are four this season that might hit that threshold.

2011Rob Gronkowski, N.E.901,32714.718240.7
2013Jimmy Graham, N.O.861,21514.116217.5
2011Jimmy Graham, N.O.991,31013.211197.0
2018Zach Ertz, Phil.1331,40310.58.9193.6
2018Eric Ebron, Ind.6982311.917.8189.0
2014Rob Gronkowski, N.E.821,12413.712184.4
2015Rob Gronkowski, N.E.721,17616.311183.6
2018Travis Kelce, K.C.911,25913.89.6183.5
2009Vernon Davis, S.F.7896512.413174.5
2004Antonio Gates, S.D.8196411.913174.4
2000Tony Gonzalez, K.C.931,20312.99174.3
2009Dallas Clark, Ind.1001,10611.110170.6
2005Antonio Gates, S.D.891,10112.410170.1
2018George Kittle, S.F.891,37815.55.3169.8
2004Tony Gonzalez, K.C.1021,25812.37167.8
2008Tony Gonzalez, K.C.961,05811.010165.8
2009Antonio Gates, S.D.791,15714.68163.7
2013Vernon Davis, S.F.5285016.313163.0
2015Jordan Reed, Wash.8795210.911161.2
2017Rob Gronkowski, N.E.691,08415.78158.4
2015Gary Barnidge, Clev.791,04313.29158.3
2007Jason Witten, Dall.961,14511.97156.5
2010Jason Witten, Dall.941,00210.79156.2
2014Antonio Gates, S.D.6982111.912154.1
2017Travis Kelce, K.C.831,03812.58152.5
2015Greg Olsen, Car.771,10414.37152.4
2007Antonio Gates, S.D.7598413.19152.4
2012Jimmy Graham, N.O.8598211.69152.2
2003Tony Gonzalez, K.C.7191612.910151.6
2013Julius Thomas, Den.6578812.112150.8
2014Jimmy Graham, N.O.8588910.510148.9
2007Tony Gonzalez, K.C.991,17211.85147.2
2015Delanie Walker, Tenn.941,08811.66146.8
2006Antonio Gates, S.D.7192413.09146.4
2009Brent Celek, Phil.7697112.88145.1
2012Rob Gronkowski, N.E.5579014.411145.0
2007Kellen Winslow, Clev.821,10613.55142.6
2012Tony Gonzalez, Atl.9393010.08141.0
2018O.J. Howard, T.B.5286616.88.9139.9
2018Jared Cook, Oak.7597113.05.3129.1
2018Rob Gronkowski, N.E.6397115.42.2110.1

—Ian Allan